Freedom Report for March 13

March 13, 2015
Market Freedom Alliance

2015 FREEDOM REPORT
for the week of March 9


The Freedom Report is Market Freedom Alliance's weekly report to grassroots activists on free market oriented legislation we support, oppose or monitor in the Arizona Legislature.

Join us each Friday during the legislative session at 10 AM for "The Freedom Call," your opportunity to get updates on these bills, and more!

To participate in Friday's FREEDOM CALL - Dial (712) 775-7031, then type: 421-127-730#

Great News!  The #AZBeerBill passed out of the Senate with bipartisan support. Join us on the conference call Friday 10 AM to find out more!

Note standing of bill denoted is last action taken. Will update every week through session. The prime sponsor of each bill is noted in parentheses.

* Denotes new action on the bill this past week!

Bills Supporting

HB 2001 - income tax brackets; index to inflation (Appropriations Chairman, Justin Olson LD 25)

Voted out of Senate Finance 3-2.

*HB 2213 - inspections; opportunity to correct (Commerce Chairman, Warren Petersen LD 12)

Passed Senate Commerce 5-2-1 on 03/09/2015, waiting for assignment to Rules Calendar.

HB2254 - 
municipal tax exemption; residential lease (Ways and Means Chairman, Darin Mitchell LD 13)

Passed Ways and Means on 02/02/15 - 5-4. This bill has been Retained on Calendar. If you live in LDs 1, 2, 8, 16, 17, 20 or 23, we need your help! Please email your respective legislator(s) below, and ask them to vote for HB 2254 on the House floor.

Target legislators:

Michelle Ugenti - LD 23 - mugenti@azleg.gov
Jay Lawrence - LD 23 - jlawrence@azleg.gov
Paul Boyer - LD 20 - pboyer@azleg.gov
Doug Coleman - LD 16 - dcoleman@azleg.gov
Jeff Weninger - LD 17 - jweninger@azleg.gov
Noel Campbell - LD 1 - ncampbell@azleg.gov
John Ackerly - LD 2 - jackerly@azleg.gov
T.J. Shope - LD 8 - tshope@azleg.gov

HB2347 - unemployment insurance; base period notices (Chairman Insurance, Karen Fann LD 1)

Passed House Insurance on 02/04/15 - 8-0. Passed House 60-0, transmitted to Senate. Senate First Read 02/25 & assigned to Senate Commerce and Workforce Development and Senate Rules 02/25.

*HB2643 - sovereign authority; affordable care act (Chairman Appropriations, Justin Olson LD 25)

Passed Arizona House Third Read 36-21-3 on 03/11/15 and Transmitted to the Arizona Senate!

*SB 1030 - 
microbreweries; multiple licenses; production; sales (Education Chairman, Kelli Ward LD 5)

Passed Senate Commerce and Workforce Development 02/09/15 by vote of 6-2. Held in Senate Rules.

*SB 1465 - distributed energy generation systems; disclosure (Finance Chairman, Debbie Lesko LD 21)

Passed House Energy, Environment & Natural Resources 7-2 on 03/09/15.

*SCR 1001 - clean elections repeal; education funding (Chairman Natural Resources, Steve Pierce LD 1)

Passed Arizona Senate 17-12-1 on 03/11/15!

Bills Opposing


None at this time.

Ones to Watch
 
SB 1403 - consumer lawsuit loans; prohibition (Chairman Commerce & Workforce Development, Kim Yee LD 20)

Passed Arizona Senate 26-4 on 03/05/15 - Transmitted to the House 03/05/15.