Freedom Report for February 20

February 20, 2015
Market Freedom Alliance

2015 FREEDOM REPORT 
for the week of February 16
 
The Freedom Report is Market Freedom Alliance’s weekly report to grassroots activists on free market oriented legislation we are supporting, opposing or watching make its way through the Arizona Legislature.

Join us each Friday during the legislative session at 10 AM for “The Freedom Call,” your opportunity to get updates on these bills, and more!  

Dial (712) 775-7031, then type: 421-127-730# - 10 AM every Friday during the Arizona Legislative Session.

Note standing of bill denoted is last action taken.  Will update every week through session.  The prime sponsor of each bill is noted in parentheses.  

Bills Supporting 

HB 2001 – income tax brackets; index to inflation (Appropriations Chairman, Justin Olson LD 25)

Transmitted to Senate 02/09/2015 - Passed House Third Read 38-21-1

HB 2213 – inspections; opportunity to correct (Commerce Chairman, Warren Petersen LD 12)

Transmitted to Senate 02/09/2015 - Passed House Third Read 37-21-2

HB2254
 - municipal tax exemption; residential lease (Ways and Means Chairman, Darin Mitchell LD 13)

Passed Ways and Means on 02/02/15 - 5-4.  Floor vote scheduled for mid-next week.  If you live in LDs 1, 2, 8, 16, 17, 20 or 23, we need your help!  Please email your respective legislator(s) below, and ask them to vote for HB 2254 next week on the House floor.

Target legislators: 

Michelle Ugenti - LD 23 mugenti@azleg.gov
Jay Lawrence - LD 23   jlawrence@azleg.gov
Paul Boyer - LD 20       pboyer@azleg.gov
Doug Coleman - LD 16 dcoleman@azleg.gov
Jeff Weninger - LD 17   jweninger@azleg.gov
Noel Campbell - LD 1    ncampbell@azleg.gov
John Ackerly - LD 2       jackerly@azleg.gov
T.J. Shope - LD 8          tshope@azleg.gov

HB2347 - unemployment insurance; base period notices (Chairman Insurance, Karen Fann LD 1)

Passed Insurance on 02/04/15 - 8-0.

HB2643 - sovereign authority; affordable care act (Chairman Appropriations, Justin Olson LD 25)

Passed Federalism and State's Rights 02/18/15 - 4-3.

SB 1030
 – microbreweries; multiple licenses; production; sales (Education Chairman, Kelli Ward LD 5)

Passed Senate Commerce and Workforce Development 02/09/15 by vote of 6-2.

SB 1465 – distributed energy generation systems; disclosure (Finance Chairman, Debbie Lesko LD 21)

Passed Water & Energy on 02/09/15 - 7-0.

SCR 1001 - clean elections repeal; education funding (Chairman Natural Resources, Steve Pierce LD 1)

Passed Judiciary 02/19/15 - Today! - 4-3.

Bills Opposing


None at this time

Ones to Watch
 
SB 1437 – Pulled in committee by author 02/09/15.